Strawberry Cream Pie

This is my first dessert that I’ve featured on this blog, largely due to the fact that this is the first dessert I’ve made in a very long time. I’m not much of a baker. I’m pretty good at it, but I don’t actually enjoy it all that much. Given the choice, I much rather cook. But truth be told, the real reason that I don’t bake often is because I always make a mess. I don’t like cleaning up messes, which is why I (subconsciously) reserve baking for when I am at my parent’s house where there is a plethora of counter space, and somehow, the messes always clean themselves up (thanks, Ma).

This Strawberry pie is a very old recipe that, according to my mother, my grandma used to make all the time. When my mom pulled it out from her recipe collection, a yellowed index card with the recipe printed via Typewriter, I had to laugh; I’m usually pulling up recipes on my iPad or iPhone. Just like the card it was printed on, this pie is very retro and very simple. It also does not require you to turn on the oven! It’s the perfect thing for summer entertaining or to bring along to a barbecue. Plus, the end result is very, very pretty.

Strawberry Cream Pie

8 oz cream cheese, room temperature
1/4 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
Dash of cinnamon
1 cup strawberries
1 cup whipping cream
1/4 cup confectioners sugar
10 inch graham cracker crust

Combine cream cheese, sugar, vanilla and cinnamon, mixing until well blended.  Mash 1 cup strawberries with a fork and stir into cream cheese mixture.  Whip cream with confectioners sugar until stiff peaks form.  Fold into cream cheese mixture. Spoon into the prepared pie crust.  Chill several hours or overnight. Garnish with additional strawberries just before serving!

strawberry cream pie

At first, I was a bit hesitant about this recipe because it calls for cream cheese, which isn’t one of my favorite dessert ingredients. But the cream cheese flavor blends perfectly into the mixture of homemade whipped cream and crushed strawberries. Also, the recipe uses a store-bought crust. Normally, I would’ve taken a few minutes to melt my own butter and beat my own graham crackers into crumbs with a rolling pin (the best stress-reliever), but the store bought crust seemed like the more convenient option at the time. Next time I make this, I think I’ll take the few extra minutes to make my own crust.

Despite the so-so crust, this pie was definitely a hit. There was only a little tiny sliver left at the end of the night. I particularly loved it because homemade whipped cream and fresh fruit is one of my favorite summer desserts, and this pie is the perfect variation. I plan on bringing this to every summer soiree to come.

3 thoughts on “Strawberry Cream Pie

Leave a comment