Roasted Broccoli and Shrimp

Broccoli isn’t exactly my favorite green vegetable. I like it enough to make it occasionally, but I often pass it up in favor of brussels sprouts or kale. Tonight’s dinner just may have changed all that.

I’ve heard people rave about roasted broccoli, but I didn’t think roasting it could improve the vegetable that much. This coming from the same girl that previously professed in this very blog that any vegetable is infinitely better roasted. For some reason, I just assumed broccoli didn’t apply to that statement. And man, was I wrong.

The idea for this dish came out of a craving for my mom’s cavatelli and broccoli, but I didn’t really feel like eating pasta. I remembered an episode of Barefoot Contessa where Ina roasted broccoli, and broccoli and shrimp are a naturally delicious pairing. So that is how I arrived at this dish. The best part is that it is ridiculously easy. Pop your ingredients onto a sheet pan and throw it in the oven. Perfect for a Monday night when you feel like eating something healthy and delicious that requires minimal effort. Also, lately I have been loving coriander. The lemony flavor is perfect here, don’t skip it!

Image

Roasted Broccoli and Shrimp (serves 2)

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • 2 pounds broccoli
  • 1 lemon, halved
  • 2-3 tbsp olive oil
  • sprinkling of coriander
  • salt and pepper to taste

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Line a large rimmed baking sheet with parchment paper. Cut the broccoli into medium sized pieces. Spread the florets onto the baking sheet and drizzle with 2 tbsp olive oil. Squeeze half of the lemon juice over the broccoli and sprinkle it lightly with the coriander and sea salt. Mix the broccoli together with your hands so that the olive oil coats every piece. Roast in the oven for 10 minutes.

Image

While the broccoli is roasting, mix clean, deveined shrimp in a bowl with the juice from the other half of the lemon, 2 tbsp olive oil, salt, pepper, and coriander. Remove broccoli from the oven after 10 minutes and push it to the side to make room for the shrimp. Add shrimp to the pan and roast for another 7 minutes or until the shrimp are opaque, flipping the shrimp half way through. I served myself this atop a parmesan cheese-infused Israeli couscous. This was a satisfying-yet-healthy dinner, perfect for a month filled with Christmas cookies and party food. It’s safe to say this is now on rotation in my kitchen.

Image

Leave a Reply

