The Easiest Summer Fruit Tart/Galette

There are three points that I require all of my favorite summer dessert recipes hit: Easy, quick, and fruity. Since I refuse to cook anything elaborate in the summer, my desserts are just the same: simple, sweet bites that feature seasonal produce. I saw these peach galettes with ricotta on Cup of Jo, and I knew I had to give them a try last weekend.

I have always thought that fruit pairs perfectly with cinnamon-infused ricotta, so I knew these galettes would be a hit. What makes them so easy is the use of a store-bought pie crust. Yes, that’s cheating, and no, I don’t mind. If you insist on making your own pie crust, you could definitely use homemade here. Maybe, one day when I am feeling ambitious, I will make a large batch of pie crusts to keep in the freezer for this specific use. But until that day… to the freezer isle I go.

Since the recipe suggests peaches, I started with that. But we were having a few people over for dinner, and since these turned out a bit on the small side and I had a pint of turning blueberries in the refrigerator, I figured they would do just as well in these tartlets. The blueberries were perfect, plumping up in the oven and exploding with flavor the way only baked blueberry desserts can. I preferred the blueberry, my grandpa preferred the peach. So I suggest you try your favorite fruits and see what sticks.

Summer Fruit Tarts/Galettes

2 9 inch pie crusts, removed from their packaging
1 small container ricotta
1/2 tsp cinnamon, or to taste
1/2 a medium peach, sliced thin OR 1/2 c. blueberries <– you could use most fruits here and your results will be equally delicious

Remove the pie crusts from their packaging. If they don’t come out smoothly, shape the dough into a ball and place onto a floured surface. Roll the rough into a rough circle, about a 1/4 inch thick. In a small bowl, combine the ricotta with cinnamon. Start with 2-3 heaping table spoons of ricotta in the center of your pie crust, and spread a thin layer on the pie crust, leaving a 1 inch border. Add more if necessary/desired. Artfully arrange your fresh fruit of choice on top of the ricotta/cinnamon mixture. Carefully fold the edges of the dough inwards, creating a crust. Transfer the galette to a baking sheet and bake at 350 degrees for 25-30 minutes, or until the top is golden brown.

Note: I skipped sugar here. On accident. It was just an afterthought! Sugar… an afterthought while preparing a dessert. Imagine that. I would suggest sprinkling some sugar atop the ricotta before laying down your fruit, just to give it an extra bit of sweetness.

I love how versatile these are. I plan on trying out some new combinations, or even savory ingredients. Because why not? When something is this easy and the results are this delicious, experimenting can only sweeten the deal.

Leave a Reply

