Southwest Cilantro Turkey Burgers

On Sundays, I always spend the day with one of my college friends/neighbors. We eat the best bagels, drink lots of coffee, and indulge in a little window shopping (which inevitably turns into real shopping, oops). We always end the afternoon at Whole Foods and cook dinner together, followed by wine, dessert, and HGTV, of course. After hours of walking about the neighborhood, we’re pretty tired and hungry, and want something we can be enjoying in 30 minutes — tops. Usually, this means salmon or pasta, but this Sunday we were in the mood for something different, so I decided to experiment with some turkey burgers.

I called this an experiment because, growing up, turkey burgers were one of the few things my dad cooked that surpassed edible and qualified as pretty-damn-good. He would scour the refrigerator for literally any kind of condiment or sauce and dump an undetermined amount into the bowl. There was never a recipe, obviously, but every time they were delicious.

I decided I wanted a more refined version of the turkey burger (no offense, Dad)! So I picked up some ground turkey, cilantro, Whole Foods guacamole, an onion, and a head of kale (I tend to believe that kale on a Sunday absolves you of a weekend’s-worth of edible sins). The guacamole was originally meant to garnish the burgers, but I thought back to my dad mixing in mayonnaise, mustard, and ketchup, and thought a few spoonfuls of guacamole would be the perfect binding addition.

turkey burger

Southwest Cilantro Turkey Burgers

1 lb. ground turkey (dark meat for more flavor)
½ small onion, diced
A healthy handful of cilantro, chopped
2 heaping spoonful of prepared guacamole (I used Whole Foods)
Sprinkling each of cumin, chili powder, black pepper, and sea salt
Cheese of your choice (I used Pepperjack)

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees. In a large bowl, combine the ground turkey, diced onion, cilantro, spices, and guacamole. Mix until well combined. Divide the mixture into four equal parts, and with clean hands, shape into turkey burgers. Bake on tin-foil lined cookie sheet. After about 20 minutes, add cheese on the burgers, if desired, and transfer to the broiler. Finish in the broiler for about 5 minutes, or until they look “done.”

Apologies for being so lax on the measurements, I really wasn’t expecting much from these! I also didn’t take any prep photos for this reason, so all you have is the final product. But it’s safe to say that this experiment in turkey burgers was a success, since I received a “Still thinking about that burger…” text message the next afternoon.

2 thoughts on “Southwest Cilantro Turkey Burgers

    • Yes! Should post about that 🙂 My favorite way to prepare kale is by massaging it with olive oil + lemon + sea salt. Sometimes I drizzle with a tiny bit of honey, but we ate this with just the olive oil + lemon!

Leave a Reply

