Cascabel Taquiera – My Favorite Neighborhood Margarita

You know that time of year in New York City. When the weather starts to warm up, the sundresses are unearthed from the back of your closet, and you dream of the perfect margarita practically all day long. Oh, that’s just me? Once it’s relatively warm out, I find myself constantly daydreaming in my cubicle of enjoying happy hour margaritas with friends from one of our favorite neighborhood spots, Cascabel Taquiera.

cascabel margaritas

Cascabel opened on the Upper West Side last summer, and from my first visit, I knew we were meant to be. Their tacos are delicious with rather interesting flavor combinations (the fish taco with fried yellow fin tuna belly, hearts of palm, and other amazing things is my standout favorite). Their guacamole is smooth and creamy, and can be customized to your preference on spice. They have this “Cobb Salad” that is about the most exciting Cobb Salad my tastebuds have ever experienced.

But their margaritas, made with fresh juices, fruit, and herbs (yes, herbs), are my favorite. For one, they are served in Mason Jars, which for some reason, is a quick and easy way to my heart. Secondly, they aren’t overly sweet. They are perfect, balanced, and again, made with fresh ingredients. No sour mix in these. And the flavor combinations are so “Me.” The Watermelon-Basil and Cucumber-Cilantro are my favorites. But I’ve also tried the Pomegranate-Hibiscus, and the classic, of course. They are all perfection in a Mason Jar.

^ My typical Cascabel fare: the Cobb Salad with chicken, radishes, tomatoes, avocado, pickled jalepenos, corn, crispy shallots, and some other delicious things I’m probably forgetting… and the cucumber cilantro margarita.

I urge you to find your favorite neighborhood margarita spot. It will make spring and summer ten times more enjoyable, I swear.

Cascabel Taquiera
2799 Broadway @ 108th Street
New York, NY 

3 thoughts on “Cascabel Taquiera – My Favorite Neighborhood Margarita

  1. Pingback: Avocado, Watermelon, Basil and Spinach Salad | Taste of the City

Leave a Reply

