Lunch at Daniel Boulud’s Boulud Sud

Yesterday, I’d like to think that I had my first taste of the truly delicious and sophisticated New York City dining scene: lunch at a Daniel Boulud restaurant. 

Since Boulud Sud opened, I had been hearing nothing but great things about the Mediterranean-inspired menu. While I love all kinds of food, mediterranean dishes have a special place in my heart, so Boulud Sud has been on my restaurant Bucket List since its existence.

When I heard they were participating in NYC Restaurant Week for lunch, I scurried to get a Friday afternoon reservation. Now is as good of a time as ever, right? While February 10th was still technically Restaurant Week, it also marked the start of Fashion Week in NYC. Being as though the restaurant is across from Lincoln Center, we were offered the three-course Fashion prixe fixe lunch menu for $24. Since I rarely say no to dessert, three courses made perfect sense. Even for lunch.

For the first course, my coworker and I both chose the North African Spiced Chickpea Soup with cilantro and cumin yogurt garnish. The soup was smooth and had a curry kick to it that warmed from within. The chickpeas were roasted and crunchy, providing the perfect contrast in texture. While I loved this, I wish there was a wee bit more cilantro blended into the soup because the spoonfuls that I had that included cilantro were nothing short of exquisite. The cilantro brought a punchy freshness to the soup that I loved.

For my entree, I chose the pan-seared Skate topped with capers, sundried tomatoes, nicoise olive (which I picked off, olives are my one true food aversion). The skate was truly seared to perfection.  I had never had skate before, so I wasn’t sure what to expect but the crust was texturally perfect, the fish cooked perfectly. The capers brought a lovely brininess and saltiness to the dish, while lemons were a great acidic addition.

My coworker had the fresh lamb sausage, which also looked delicious.

And the finale, dessert. Oh how I loved my dessert. I’m sure exactly what the name of it was because it isn’t on their menu online, but it was a chocolate hazlenut concoction that will be remembered. A delicate chocolate mousse was served atop the most delicious, buttery hazlenut biscuit/cookie that I’ve ever experienced. The dessert, overall, was not overly sweet, which is part of the reason why I loved it. The chocolate mousse was chocolately, not sugary. On the side was a homemade chocolate sorbet that was also delicious, but I just could not finish it. Like the mousse, it wasn’t overly sweet. My coworkers trio of sorbets are also pictured. He loved the coffee.

Boulud Sud was perfect. The end.

Boulud Sud
20 West 64th Street
New York, NY 

Leave a Reply

