My Favorite Kale Salad

It’s no secret that I’m obsessed with Kale. Not sautéed or steamed, but Raw kale. You’re probably wondering… how can a person be utterly obsessed with kale, let alone raw kale? I don’t know why, but I find it completely delicious and I always feel as though I’ve done some kind of good deed unto my body after eating a bowlful of kale. I’m heading down South tomorrow evening, and I have a feeling this kale salad will be the first thing I prepare when I return back to NYC after a week of Lowcountry specialties.

Usually, I eat my kale as an accompaniment to fish or chicken. I simply massage the kale in lemon juice and olive oil, sprinkle with a bit of sea salt and maybe a tiny drizzle of honey. Even though I love this, it can get old week after week, so I was beyond excited when I came across this Market Kale Salad recipe from Heidi at 101 Cookbooks. Having cooked my way through most of her book, Super Natural Every Day, with stellar results, I knew this salad would be one worth writing about.

The most memorable part of this salad is the creamy avocado and scallion dressing.  It comes together in no time in the food processor or blender. Next time I make this, I’ll be sure to make a big batch to use on lunch salads, chicken, etc. because it is just that delicious. I didn’t include a few of the things that Heidi’s recipe uses, mostly out of laziness and hunger, and it was delicious all the same. It was 8pm as the salad was nearly assembled, yet I still had to slice the fennel sans mandoline, but the hunger pangs in my stomach told me to just dig in as-is. And I’m glad I did. If I had a bit more time on my hands, I think that the farro would make a nice addition, and a fried egg on top would be my idea of the perfect healthy dinner.

Kale Market Salad, adapted from 101 Cookbooks

1 bunch kale (I prefer red kale) destemmed, torn into pieces
4 large carrots, shaved into ribbons
1 avocado, cut into small cubes
a big handful of almond slices, toasted

For the dressing:
1/2 an avocado
4 scallions, rinsed and chopped
Juice of 1 lemon
1/3 cup olive oil, more if necessary
sea salt, pepper
1 teaspoon honey (I skipped this)

Using a hand blender, blender, or food processor, puree all of the ingredients for the dressing together until smooth. Add water or more olive oil if the dressing looks too thick.

When you are ready to serve the salad,  combine the kale with about half of the green dressing. Massage with your hands until the kale wilts a bit (about one minute). Add the carrots and avocado, and toss the salad again with the rest of the dressing. Finally, top with the sliced almonds.

At the last minute, my friend wanted to add a bit of pecorino romano cheese to the salad. A bit of cheese never made anything worse, right? ;)

2 thoughts on “My Favorite Kale Salad

Leave a Reply

